National Sports Day Awards Distributed: List Of Winners

President giving award to Deepa Malik

The National Sports Day of India is celebrated every year on 29th August. The day is celebrated in the honor of the legendary hockey player, Major Dhyan Chand. The day is observed to spread awareness on the importance of sports and daily activities in this busy life.

President Ram Nath Kovind presented the National Sports Day Awards on the 114th birth anniversary of the Indian hockey legend, Major Dhyan Chand to sportspersons from the country at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on 28th August, 2019.

Paralympic silver-medallist Deepa Malik became the first Indian woman para-athlete and the oldest too to be conferred the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award on 29th August, 2019.

Wrestler Bajrang Punia though skipped the award ceremony in New Delhi as to continue his training for September’s World Championships in Russia. The Asian Games gold medallist, Bajrang Punia will reportedly receive the award from the Sports Minister Kiran Rijiju after returning to India. Indian cricket star, Ravindra Jadeja and middle distance runner Mohammed Anas Yahiya were among the notable absentees at the award ceremony.

India’s national football goalkeeper, Gurpreet Singh, kabaddi star Ajay Thakur, hockey player Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, cricketer Poonam Yadav were among the prominent players to receive the Arjuna Award at the award ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhavan on 27th August, 2019.

Dhyan Chand Award for lifetime achievement in sports was received by Manoj Kumar in wrestling, C Lalremsanga in archery, Arup Basak in table tennis, Nitten Kirrtane in tennis and Manuel Fredricks in hockey at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe To Our Newsletter